THREE ORAL COMMUNICATION AWARDS
TracyDAGHER_edited.jpg

Tracy DAGHER

INSERM U1170, Gustave Roussy, Université Paris Saclay, GREX, Villejuif, France

Effect of the interferon alpha (IFN) and arsenic trioxide (As2O3) combination in the treatment of myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN)

 

The aim of our project is to understand the mechanism of action of interferon alpha in the treatment of myeloproliferative neoplasms MPN. Our data show that arsenic trioxide increases the efficacy of interferon alpha by specifically targeting the JAK2V617F HSPC through a PML-dependent mechanism in a preclinical mouse model, in UT7 cell line and on progenitor cells from MPN patients

thomas_clapes_edited.jpg

Thomas CLAPES

Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg, Germany

Transposable elements enhance hematopoietic regeneration via immune signaling activation

 

Maintaining hematopoietic stem cells (Hscs) in a dormant state is necessary to maintain their long-term functionality and capacity for self-renewal. Our work has shown that, in response to stress, such as myeloablation, chromatin remodeling takes place in HSCs, leading to the transcription of transposable elements. These RNAs serve as ligands to the innate immune system receptor MDA5, which in turn triggers an immune response that removes the HSC from its dormancy to regenerate the hematopoietic system.

 

Photo maelle Cartel.jpg

Maëlle CARTEL

Cancer Research Center of Toulouse, INSERM U1037, CNRS ERL 5294, Université de Toulouse, Ligue Nationale Contre le Cancer, équipe labellisée 2016, Toulouse, France.

Ubiquitin-specific protease 7 is a master regulator of checkpoint kinase 1 and chemoresistance in Acute Myeloid Leukemia

 

By studying the function of the deubiquitinylase USP7 in acute myeloid leukemia (AML), we demonstrate that USP7 inhibition significantly reduces AML cell proliferation in vitro and in vivo, and increases AML cell death. Moreover, USP7 inhibition synergizes with cytarabine to kill AML cell lines and primary cells from patient. Finally, transcriptomic and single cell analysis showed that USP7 could represent a new predictive marker of resistance and relapse at diagnosis. Altogether, our data demonstrate that USP7 represents both a marker of resistance to chemotherapy, as well as a potential therapeutic target to overcome resistance to treatment in AML

FOUR POSTER PRICES
Giulia PAGANO.jpg

Giulia PAGANO

Luxembourg Institute of Health, Tumor Stroma Interactions, Department of Oncology, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Role of regulatory T cells in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

In our work, we are investigating in vivo and in vitro the role of two microenvironment-regulated transcription factors in the suppressive ability of regulatory T cells (or Tregs) during Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) development. To this purpose, we generated conditional knock-out mice lacking specific genes only in Tregs using Foxp3-Cre mice. Following the adoptive transfer of CLL cells in the conditional knock-out mice, we observed a delay in CLL development and an increased anti-tumor immune response compared to wild-type controls.

Hassan DAKIK.jpg

Hassan DAKIK

University of Tours EA 7501 GICC, CNRS ERL7001 LNOx, "Niche leucémique et métabolisme oxydatif" Tours, CNRS ERL 7001, CNRS GDR 3697 MicroNiT, Faculté de Médecine de Tours, Tours, France

Transcriptomic meta-analysis across AML cytogenetic subgroups identifies robust common prognostic signature

According to the ELN, genetic abnormalities are used to stratify AML patients into 3 favorable, intermediate and poor risk groups. To improve this genetic classification, prognostic signatures have been developed without really taking into account the leukemic subtype. In our work, we performed a large-scale meta-analysis after assembling available expression microarray data and identifying a list of genes commonly deregulated in the AML bone marrow compared to a healthy bone marrow, including potential new targets. We then showed that these common genes, associated with the proliferation and a blockade of differentiation, enable to obtain a prognostic signature regardless of age, genetic abnormalities, or LSC signature.

 

Laurent%20renou_edited.jpg

Laurent RENOU

Team “Niche and Cancer in Hematopoiesis”, Inserm/CEA UMR1274, “Genetic Stability, Stem Cells and Radiations”, Fontenay-aux-Roses, France

Development of human ossicles in immune-deficient mice as an alternative to study normal human hematopoiesis and poor engrafting pathologic samples: the end of a long road?

My work focuses on modelling a human bone marrow niche in mice. We hypothesized that the contribution of a human medullary environment will refine the existing models by providing various factors necessary for the homing and growth of normal and pathological human hematopoietic cells recalcitrant to the graft. In my poster, I describe how I have established an experimental protocol that allows to form under the immunocompromised mouse skin a viable human bone marrow efficient, in still preliminary results, to promote human haematopoietic development after transplantation of CD34+ cord blood cells.

Photo Willekens.jpg

Christophe WILLEKENS

Inserm U1170 "Hématopoïèse normale et pathologique", Gustave Roussy Cancer Campus

Srsf2P95H co-occurrence limits Jak2V617F-induced myelofibrosis

 

The co-existence of JAK2 and SRSF2 gene mutations is found in patients with myelofibrosis and increases the risk of progression to acute leukemia. My thesis project is to study, in an in vivo model, the impact of the interaction of these two mutations on the development of spinal fibrosis, megakaryopoiesis and hematopoietic stem cell function.

A “QUICKFIRE” PRESENTATION AWARD
Yanis PELINSKI.jpg

Yanis PELINSKI

Hématopoïèse normale et pathologique, Université Paris-Sud - Paris 11, Institut Gustave Roussy, INSERM U1170

Intragenic young LINE-1 elements as (cis)-regulators of hematopoietic stem cell gene expression

We recently discovered a new mechanism responsible for the loss of HSC function during irradiation (IR) involving the L1md, a subfamily of young and active LINE-1 elements in mice. My thesis project studies the fact that L1md depression may be due to epigenetic defects induced by IR and involved in transcriptomic alterations in HSCs, and that thrombopoietin could protect the function of HSCs by preventing these effects .

TROIS PRIX DE COMMUNICATION ORALE
TracyDAGHER_edited.jpg

Tracy DAGHER

INSERM U1170, Gustave Roussy, Université Paris Saclay, GREX, Villejuif, France

Effect of the interferon alpha (IFN) and arsenic trioxide (As2O3) combination in the treatment of myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN)

 

L’objectif de notre projet est de comprendre le mécanisme d’action de l’interféron alpha dans le traitement des néoplasmes myéloprolifératifs (NMP). Nos données montrent que le trioxyde d’arsenic augmente l’efficacité de l’interféron alpha en ciblant spécifiquement les HSPC JAK2V617F par un mécanisme dépendant de PML dans un modèle préclinique de souris, dans la lignée cellulaire UT7 et sur les cellules progénitrices de patients atteints de NPP.

thomas_clapes_edited.jpg

Thomas CLAPES

Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg, Germany

Transposable elements enhance hematopoietic regeneration via immune signaling activation

 

Le maintien des cellules souches hématopoïétiques (CSH) dans un état de dormance est nécessaire pour préserver, à long terme, leur fonctionnalité et capacité d’auto-renouvèlement. Nos travaux ont démontré que, en réponse à un stress, comme par exemple une myéloablation, un remodelage de la chromatine avait lieu dans les CSH conduisant à la transcription d’éléments transposables. Ces ARNs servent de ligands au récepteur du système immunitaire inné MDA5, qui à son tour déclenche une réponse immunitaire sortant les CSH de leur dormance afin de régénérer le système hématopoïétique.

Photo maelle Cartel.jpg

Maëlle CARTEL

Cancer Research Center of Toulouse, INSERM U1037, CNRS ERL 5294, Université de Toulouse, Ligue Nationale Contre le Cancer, équipe labellisée 2016, Toulouse, France.

Ubiquitin-specific protease 7 is a master regulator of checkpoint kinase 1 and chemoresistance in Acute Myeloid Leukemia

En étudiant la fonction de la deubiquitinylase USP7 dans la leucémie myéloïde aiguë (LAM), nous démontrons que l’inhibition de l’USP7 réduit considérablement la prolifération cellulaire de la LAM in vitro et in vivo, et augmente la mort cellulaire de la LAM. De plus, l’inhibition de l’USP7 crée une synergie avec la cytarabine pour tuer les lignées cellulaires AML et les cellules primaires du patient. Enfin, l’analyse transcriptomique et unicellulaire a montré que USP7 pourrait représenter un nouveau marqueur prédictif de résistance et de rechute au diagnostic. Dans l’ensemble, nos données démontrent que USP7 représente à la fois un marqueur de résistance à la chimiothérapie et une cible thérapeutique potentielle pour surmonter la résistance au traitement de la LAM.

QUATRE PRIX DE POSTER
Giulia PAGANO.jpg

Giulia PAGANO

Luxembourg Institute of Health, Tumor Stroma Interactions, Department of Oncology, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Role of regulatory T cells in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Dans nos travaux, nous étudions in vivo et in vitro le rôle de deux facteurs de transcription régulés par le microenvironnement dans la capacité suppressive des cellules T régulatrices (ou Tregs) pendant le développement de la leucémie lymphoïde chronique (LLC). À cette fin, nous avons généré des souris knock-out conditionnelles dépourvues de gènes spécifiques uniquement chez les Tregs utilisant des souris Foxp3-Cre. Après le transfert adoptif des cellules de la LLC chez les souris invalidées conditionnellement, nous avons observé un retard dans le développement de la LLC et une réponse immunitaire antitumorale accrue par rapport aux contrôles sauvages.

Hassan DAKIK.jpg

Hassan DAKIK

University of Tours EA 7501 GICC, CNRS ERL7001 LNOx, "Niche leucémique et métabolisme oxydatif" Tours, CNRS ERL 7001, CNRS GDR 3697 MicroNiT, Faculté de Médecine de Tours, Tours, France

Transcriptomic meta-analysis across AML cytogenetic subgroups identifies robust common prognostic signature

Selon l'ELN, les anomalies génétiques sont utilisées pour stratifier les patients LAM dans 3 groupes de risque favorable, intermédiaire et mauvais. Pour améliorer cette classification génétique, des signatures pronostiques ont été développées sans réellement tenir compte du sous-type leucémique. Dans notre travail, nous avons réalisé une méta-analyse à large échelle après avoir assemblé les « microarray » d’expression disponibles publiquement et identifier une liste des gènes communément dérégulés dans la moelle de LAM par rapport à la moelle normale, parmi lesquels de nouvelles cibles potentielles. Nous avons ensuite montré que ces gènes communs, associés à la prolifération et au blocage de la différentiation, permettent d’obtenir une signature pronostique indépendamment de l’âge, des anomalies génétiques, ou de la signature LSC.

 

Laurent%20renou_edited.jpg

Laurent RENOU

Team “Niche and Cancer in Hematopoiesis”, Inserm/CEA UMR1274, “Genetic Stability, Stem Cells and Radiations”, Fontenay-aux-Roses, France

Development of human ossicles in immune-deficient mice as an alternative to study normal human hematopoiesis and poor engrafting pathologic samples: the end of a long road?

Mes travaux portent sur la modélisation d'une niche de moelle osseuse humanisée chez la souris. Nous avons posé l’hypothèse selon laquelle l'apport d'un environnement médullaire humain raffinera les modèles existants en apportant divers facteurs nécessaires à l’implantation et à la croissance de cellules hématopoïétiques humaines normales et pathologiques récalcitrantes à la greffe. Dans mon poster, je décris comment j’ai établi un protocole expérimental qui permet de former sous la peau de souris immunodéficiences une moelle osseuse humaine viable et capable, dans des résultats encore préliminaires, de favoriser un développement hématopoïétique humain après greffe de cellules CD34+ de sang de cordon.

Photo Willekens.jpg

Christophe WILLEKENS

Inserm U1170 "Hématopoïèse normale et pathologique", Gustave Roussy Cancer Campus

Srsf2P95H co-occurrence limits Jak2V617F-induced myelofibrosis

 

La co-existence des mutations des gènes JAK2 et SRSF2 est retrouvée chez les patients atteints de myélofibrose et augmente le risque d’évolution en leucémie aiguë. Mon projet de thèse étudie, dans un modèle in vivo, l’impact de l’interaction de ces 2 mutations sur le développement de la fibrose médullaire, sur la mégacaryopoïèse et la fonction des cellules souches hématopoïétiques.

UN PRIX DE “QUICKFIRE” PRESENTATION
Yanis PELINSKI.jpg

Yanis PELINSKI

Hématopoïèse normale et pathologique, Université Paris-Sud - Paris 11, Institut Gustave Roussy, INSERM U1170

Intragenic young LINE-1 elements as (cis)-regulators of hematopoietic stem cell gene expression

Nous avons récemment découvert un nouveau mécanisme responsable de la perte de fonction CSH lors d'une irradiation (IR) impliquant le L1Md, une sous-famille des éléments LINE-1 jeunes et actives chez la souris. Mon projet de thèse étudie le fait que la dépression de L1Md peut être due à des défauts épigénétiques induits par l'IR et impliqués dans des altérations transcriptomiques dans les CSH, et que la thrombopoïétine pourrait protéger la fonction des CSH en prévenant ces effets.