TWO ORAL COMMUNICATION AWARDS
Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Julien CALVO

Fontenay-aux-Roses

Bone marrow sites differently imprint dormancy and chemoresistance to T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia

 

"In this project, we studied the development of human cells of acute T lymphoblastic leukemia (LAL-T) within a medullary microenvironment rich in adipocytes thanks to the use of immunodeficient mice. We have shown that the blasts of ALL -T nestled in this medullary environment (rich in adipocytes), become dormant and intrinsically resistant to drugs used in chemotherapy targeting the cell cycle. "(Cahu & Calvo et al., Blood Advances, 2017)

Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Dianna PASSARO

Londres

Increased vascular permeability in the bone marrow microenvironment contributes to disease progression and drug response in acute myeloid leukemia

 

"We are studying the microenvironment in bone marrow of mice transplanted with acute myeloid leukemia from patients with intravital multiphoton imaging coupled with transcriptomic analysis. We have observed increased vascular permeability, resistant to chemotherapy, associated with an increase in the endothelial compartment of nitric oxide and promoting leukemic progression to the detriment of hematopoietic stem cells "

 

THREE ORAL COMMUNICATION AWARDS
Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Florence ZYLBERSZTEJN

Lyon

Alteration of VDR and BMP pathway in normal hematopoiesis and AML immature cells

 

"The prevention of relapses linked to the persistence of leukemic stem cells is a major issue in acute myeloid leukemia. My thesis project studies the involvement of the vitamin D receptor (VDR) in the control of normal and leukemic hematopoietic stem cells as well as the associated molecular pathways, including the Bone Morphogenetic Protein (BMP) pathway. "

Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Nicolas HIPP

Rennes

T cell help mediated by IL2 orchestrates BACH2 downregulation that allows plasma cell differentiation

 

"The terminal differentiation of B lymphocytes requires the help of T lymphocytes. We have demonstrated that interleukin-2 secreted by T lymphocytes activates ERK / ELK1 and represses the expression of BACH2 by modulating the activity of its super enhancer, allowing the derepression of the transcriptional program at the origin of plasmocyte differentiation. "

 

Nadia BOUGACHA

Paris

Role of REL in drug resistance in chronic lymphocytic leukemia

 

"Gain in short arm of chromosome 2 (2p +) is a recurring anomaly in chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). We have shown that gain in 2p was associated with poor prognostic factors (del11q, IGHV not mutated) and resistance to treatments. Our project consists in characterizing the genetic bases of this resistance by studying the role of oncogenes contained in the 2p region. "

DEUX PRIX DE COMMUNICATION ORALE
Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Julien CALVO

Fontenay-aux-Roses

Bone marrow sites differently imprint dormancy and chemoresistance to T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia

" Dans ce projet, nous avons étudié le développement des cellules humaines de leucémies aigues lymphoblastiques T (LAL-T) au sein d’un microenvironnement médullaire riche en adipocytes grâce à l’utilisation de souris immunodéficientes. Nous avons montré que les blastes de LAL-T nichés dans cet environnement médullaire (riche en adipocytes), deviennent dormants et intrinsèquement résistants aux drogues utilisées en chimiothérapie ciblant le cycle cellulaire. " (Cahu&Calvo et al., Blood Advances, 2017)

Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Dianna PASSARO

Londres

Increased vascular permeability in the bone marrow microenvironment contributes   to disease progression and drug response in acute myeloid leukemia

" Nous étudions le microenvironnement dans la moelle osseuse de souries greffées avec des leucémies aiguës myéloïdes de patients avec l’imagerie multiphotonique intravitale couplée à l’analyse transcriptomique. Nous avons observé une perméabilité vasculaire accrue, résistante à la chimiothérapie, associée à une augmentation dans le compartiment endothéliale d’oxyde nitrique et favorisant la progression leucémique au détriment de cellules souches hématopoïétiques "

 

TROIS PRIX DE COMMUNICATION POSTER
Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Florence ZYLBERSZTEJN

Lyon

Alteration of VDR and BMP pathway in normal hematopoiesis and AML immature cells

" La prévention des rechutes liées à la persistance des cellules souches leucémiques est un enjeu majeur dans la leucémie aiguë myéloïde. Mon projet de thèse étudie l’implication du récepteur à la vitamine D (VDR) dans le contrôle des cellules souches hématopoïétiques normales et leucémiques ainsi que les voies moléculaires associées, notamment la voie des Bone Morphogenetic Protein (BMP)."

Photos_lauréats_2017.jpg

Nicolas HIPP

Rennes

T cell help mediated by IL2 orchestrates BACH2 downregulation that allows plasma cell differentiation

" La différenciation terminale des lymphocytes B nécessite l’aide des lymphocytes T. Nous avons mis en évidence que l’interleukine-2 sécrétée par les lymphocytes T active ERK/ELK1 et réprime l’expression de BACH2 en modulant l’activité de son super enhancer, permettant la dérépression du programme transcriptionnelle  à l’origine de la différenciation plasmocytaire."

 

Nadia BOUGACHA

Paris

Role of REL in drug resistance in chronic lymphocytic leukemia

" Le gain du bras court du chromosome 2 (2p+) est une anomalie récurrente dans la leucémie lymphoïde chronique (LLC). Nous avons montré que le gain 2p était associé à des facteurs de mauvais pronostic (del11q, IGHV non mutés) et à la résistance aux traitements. Notre projet consiste à caractériser les bases génétiques de cette résistance en étudiant le rôle des oncogènes contenus dans la région 2p."