CHO Awards 2015

 

Two young researchers were rewarded for their scientific work presented orally, by the award by the members of the CHO office of the CHO Awards 2015:

Coralie Hoareau-Aveilla (CRCT, Toulouse Cancer Research Center, UMR1037 Inserm / UPS / ERL5294 CNRS, Toulouse): "Our study on anaplastic large cell lymphomas (LAGC) NPM-ALK (+) revealed the existence of an epigenetic mechanism repressing the expression of miR-150, a tumor suppressor. This repression can be relieved by a hypomethylating agent, decitabine, and thus block the growth of tumor cells resistant to crizotinib, inhibitor of tyrosine activity ALK kinase. Our work places epigenetics at the heart of new therapeutic options for LAGC. "

Grégoire Stick (IBPS, Institut de Biologie Paris Seine, UMR 7622 CNRS / UPMC, Paris): "Our research focuses on the dialogue between hematopoietic stem cells (HSC) and nerve stromal cells through, among other things, the exchange of extracellular microvesicles, exosomes. Our work identifies for the first time exosomes secreted by stromal cells and internalized by HSCs, having a specific molecular signature and participating in the ex vivo maintenance of HSCs. "

 

Two young researchers received for their scientific work presented by poster, the CHO Poster Awards 2015 which were awarded by a jury made up of members of the CHO bureau and Ruud Delwel, Brian J. Huntly, Daniela Krause and Roger Patient, speakers congress guests:

 

Laure Delestré (UMR1170 Inserm / Université Paris XI, Villejuif): "Oncogenes induce stress senescence limiting cell expansion and deficient in solid tumors. We have shown that this process exists in hematopoietic cells after activation of the oncogenes Spi1 and HrasV12 and it is lost during leukemic progression in a mouse model of acute myeloid leukemia. "

 

Anne Largeot (Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, Manchester): "We have shown that MOZ is involved in the maintenance of hematopoietic stem cells in adult mice, and in the development of T-cell leukemias. In addition, our study of proteins fusion of MOZs created during genetic translocations has demonstrated that they directly regulate the expression of leukemic oncogenes in acute myeloblastic leukemias. "

Prix du CHO 2015

Deux jeunes chercheurs ont été récompensés pour leurs travaux scientifiques présentés à l’oral, par l’attribution par les membres du bureau du CHO des Prix du CHO 2015 :

Coralie Hoareau-Aveilla (CRCT, Centre de Recherche en Cancérologie de Toulouse, UMR1037 Inserm/UPS/ERL5294 CNRS, Toulouse): "Notre étude sur les lymphomes anaplasiques à grandes cellules (LAGC) NPM-ALK(+) a révélé l’existence d’un mécanisme épigénétique réprimant l’expression de miR-150, un suppresseur de tumeur. Cette répression peut être levée par un agent hypométhylant, la décitabine, et ainsi bloquer la croissance des cellules tumorales résistantes au crizotinib, inhibiteur de l’activité tyrosine kinase d’ALK. Notre travail place l’épigénétique au cœur des nouvelles options thérapeutiques pour les LAGC."

Grégoire Stick (IBPS, Institut de Biologie Paris Seine, UMR 7622 CNRS/UPMC, Paris): "Nos recherches portent sur le dialogue entre les cellules souches hématopoïétiques (CSH) et les cellules stromales de la niche à travers entre autres, l’échange de microvésicules extracellulaires, les exosomes. Nos travaux identifient pour la première fois des exosomes secrétés par les cellules stromales et internalisés par les CSH, possédant une signature moléculaire spécifique et participant au maintien ex vivo des CSH."

 

Deux jeunes chercheurs ont reçu pour leurs travaux scientifiques présentés par affiche, les Prix Poster du CHO 2015 qui ont été attribués par un jury constitué de membres du bureau du CHO et de  Ruud Delwel, Brian J. Huntly, Daniela Krause et Roger Patient, orateurs invités du congrès :

Laure Delestré (UMR1170 Inserm/Université Paris XI, Villejuif): "Les oncogènes induisent une sénescence de  stress  limitant l'expansion cellulaire et déficiente dans les tumeurs solides. Nous avons montré que ce processus existe dans les cellules hématopoïétiques après activation des oncogènes Spi1 et HrasV12 et qu’il est perdu au cours de la progression leucémique dans un modèle murin de leucémie aiguë myéloïde."

Anne Largeot (Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, Manchester): "Nous avons montré que MOZ est impliqué dans le maintien des cellules souches hématopoïétiques chez la souris adulte, et dans le développement de leucémies des lymphocytes T. De plus, notre étude des protéines de fusion de MOZ crées lors de translocations génétiques a démontré quelles régulent directement l’expression d’oncogènes leucémiques dans les leucémies aiguës myéloblastiques."